Jodrell Bank observes CP1919 on 40th anniversary of Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures.

On 15th June, 1979, Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures. The iconic cover art, designed by Peter Saville, featured signals from the first pulsar CP1919.

On 15th June, 2019, to mark the 40th anniversary of the release, the team at Jodrell Bank made this observation of that same pulsar.

Professor Tim O’Brien, Associate Director of Jodrell Bank, with Olly King, one of the Jodrell Bank Controllers working on the project: